Top Menu


GQ Men of the Year awards

American Crew was involved as the official grooming partner and sponsor of the 2010 GQ Men of the Year Awards – for the fourth year running -where some of Australia’s biggest international stars were treated to the Groom Room experience providing expert styling and care by the American Crew styling team led by Hair Director, Stephen Foyle.

Nominees of the awards looked their award-winning best thanks to American Crew, for the exclusive event held at the Sydney Opera House on Tuesday, 30th November.

Celebrities pampered by the American Crew styling team in the Groom Room included Ryan Kwanten, Curtis Stone, Will Anderson, Josh Thomas, Firass Dihrani, Danny Green, Birds of Tokyo and GQ Editor Nick Smith.

Stephen Foyle and Danny Green

The GQ Men of the Year Awards recognise the achievements of Australia’s leading gentlemen by honouring them in 17 categories across entertainment, fashion, the arts, sport, media, philanthropy and style.

Wil Anderson in the Groom Room

Ryan Kwanten was awarded the prestigious 2010 GQ Man of the Year Award for his ability to overcome significant obstacles and succeed in the highly competitive US market after landing a starring role in the cult American TV series True Blood.

The American Crew GQ Man of Style Award was presented to rising star, Xavier Thomas for his exceptional fashion sense.

2010 GQ Men of the Year winners who excelled in their respective fields and were honoured for their achievements included:

Man of the Year Ryan Kwanten

Man of Style Xavier Samuel

Men of Chivarly The Loyal Foundation yacht crew

Man of Inspiration Jack Manning Bancroft

Actor of the year Ben Mendelsohn

TV Actor of the Year Firass Dirani

Breakthrough of the Year Chris Hemsworth

Media Personality of the Year Wil Anderson

Band of the Year Birds of Tokyo

Chef of the Year Curtis Stone

Artist of the Year Sam Shmith

Designer of the Year Vanishing Elephant

Sportsmen of the Year Mark Webber

Politician of the Year Wyatt Roy MP

Critic of the Year Matt Preston

Creative Force of the Year Joel and Nash Edgerton, David  Michod, Luke Doolan, Spencer Susser and Kieran Darcy-Smith

The black tie event was hosted by GQ Australia Editor Nick Smith and MCd by Wil Anderson, with awards presented by the Hon Malcolm Turnbull MP, Nacho Figueras, Matt Moran, Claudia Karvan, Jessica Marais, Amanda Keller, Tim Olsen and Corrine Grant.

For more information call 1800 104 204 or visit 

Click here for Styleicons|TV.


GQ Men of the Year Awards

The scene was set for a night geared to celebrate extravagant success on the Aussie male front – the VOLVO GQ Men of the Year awards spun out at Sydney’s Ivy Ballroom, providing a night of style, tears and tunes.

GQ Men of the Year Award

Despite a side splitting speech from Comedic Talent of the Year, Wil Anderson and smooth grooves from DJ of the Year Grant Smilie, the evenings stand out moment arose with Kim Ledger as he took to the stage with words on behalf of his indelibly talented son, Heath Ledger, in acceptance of the Actor of the Year award.

Other awards on the evening included: Sportsman of the year: Matthew Mitcham, Radio Personality of the Year: Jabba, TV Personality of the Year: Daniel Macpherson, Entrepreneur of the Year: Steve Pavlovic, Breakthrough Artist of the Year: Vincent Fantauzzo, Best Ensemble: Cast of Underbelly, Band/Solo Artist of the Year: The Presets, Man of Style: Jason Dundas, Designer of the Year: Arthur Galan, Chef of the Year: Sean Connolly, Investigator of the Year: Kerry O’Brien, Man of Inspiration: Tom Calma, Creative Force: Baz Luhrmann, Lifetime Achievement: Bert Newton, VOLVO People’s Choice Man of the Year: Hugh Jackman.

The night carried crew up into the night (literally) to kick on at Ivy’s phenomenal poolside set-up – needless to say a few teetered home with squeaking wet shoes.

Click here for Styleicons|TV.