Top Menu


Robert Bava crowned AHFA Australian Hairdresser of the Year

Monday April 20 saw the cream of Australian hairdressing light up the Sydney Opera House in celebration of the 2009 Australian Hair Fashion Awards.

Robert Bava

The evening kicked off with a red carpet photo call and canapés before guests were treated to three courses while taking in the spectacular Sydney Harbour vista. Fireworks marked the beginning of the awards where the cream of Australia’s hair and beauty talent were recognised across state, colour, mens, apprentice, team, and salon categories. Masters of the craft, fashion photographers, session stylists, makeup artists and hair products were also recognised at this industry night of nights.

Marie Uva

Notable winners were Marie Uva of Rokk Ebony, who walked away with two trophies for Creative Colourist and VIC Hairdresser of the Year, as well as Renya Xydis who picked up the Session Stylist of the Year and Best Salon Design gongs.

The stage rained with gold and the crowd stood for a standing ovation as Robert Bava of Adelaide’s Parlour Hair was named Australian Hairdresser of the Year for the second consecutive year in what is easily the most covetable award of the event.

Bava will enjoy the use of a BMW 120i Series for another year in addition to a sponsorship in developing a hair-related electrical appliance such as a hair straightener and a 12 month public relations package from Crush Media.

Aerial view of the night

Read on for the full 2009 AHFA Winner’s list.

Creative Colourist of the Year: Marie Uva, Rokk Ebony VIC
Men’s Hairdresser of the Year: Marc Mendicino, E Salon NSW
Artistic Salon Team of the Year: Sublime Hairdressing Salons QLD
Apprentice of the Year: Lauren McCowen, Togninis QLD
QLD Hairdresser of the Year: Carole Haddad, Corcorz Hair Brisbane
NSW/ACT Hairdresser of the Year: Heidi Pfiffner, Toni & Guy Mosman
VIC/TAS Hairdresser of the Year: Marie Uva, Rokk Ebony South Yarra
SA Hairdresser of the Year: Nicole Abela, Hair Machine Glenside
WA/NT Hairdresser of the Year: Tracey Laing, Toni & Guy Subiaco
Best Salon Design: Renya Xydis City, Sydney NSW
Best New Product: O&M Seven Day Miracle Moisture Masque
Best New Packaging and Design: Kevin Murphy
Session Stylist of the Year: Renya Xydis
Makeup Artist of the Year: Liz Kelsh
Photographer of the Year: Carlotta Moye
UK Master: Phil Smith
Australian Master: Richard Mannah
New Zealand Master: Greg Murrell
Humanitarian Award: Aveda
Lifetime Achievement Award: Hugh Gresham
Lifetime Achievement Award: John Bryant

Click here for Styleicons|TV.