Top Menu


Schwarzkopf Professional Hair Expo Awards finalists announced

Hairdressing’s leaders and talented stylists united on March 31 at a cocktail reception at Sydney’s Darling Harbour to reveal the 2009 Hair Expo Awards finalists, which for 24 years has cultivated some of the industry’s leading stars.

To identify the finalists a 20 strong panel of independent industry experts spent two full days scrutinising over 200 questionaires and 147 photographic entries.

Finalists for the top prize of Australian Hairdresser of the Year are:

2007 winner Caterina DiBiase (Heading Out Hair and Beauty), 2008 winner Jayne Wild (Wild Life Hair), Sharon Blain (The Art of Hair) Frank Apostolopoulos (Biba), Joey Scandizzo (Rokk Ebony), Marcello Guerresi (Biba), Hamish Glianos (The People by Hamish Glianos), Damian Rinaldo (Hair Machine), Matthew Webb (Toni&Guy), Matthew Nischler (Nischler).

Australian Hairdresser of the Year is the most coveted of the awards and is judged by a panel of independent industry experts. The final decision is based on a number of contributing factors ranging from the entrant’s photographic collection to their integrity, peer recognition, participation in industry activities, education and contribution to the advancement of the industry.

Finalists in other categories included Jason Fassbender, Marie Cain, Renee Walkom and Ali Holmes, for New Creative Force, whilst Suki Hairdressing, Biba, Wild Life and Head Studio are nominated for Salon Team of the Year.

Also up for grabs are the awards for New Zealand Hairdresser of the Year; Colour Technician of the Year – Tracey Hughes (Mieka), Brett Albury (Suki Hairdressing), Marie Uva (Rokk Ebony), Matt Clements (The Assembly) and Jacen Ward (Toni&Guy) as well as Apprentice/Trainee of the Year; Session Stylist of the Year; Best New Salon Design; Excellence in Salon Marketing; Excellence in Hairdressing Education; Entrepreneur and Photographic Collection of the Year.

Winners of the Schwarzkopf Professional Hair Expo Australian Hairdressing Awards will be announced at a gala extravaganza – unquestionably the industry’s night of nights on Monday 8th June.

For a full list of finalists visit;

Jayne Wild

Joey Scandizzo

Julia McGrath Bekix

Tony Prescott Annabe

Bianca Panozzo Stefa 


 Brad Ngata Hayley

Brian Thomas Hamish

Dennis Langford 



Click here for Styleicons|TV.