Top Menu


2017 Australian FAME Team Finalists Announced

The future is now, with the biggest and brightest young hairdressing stars named as Australian FAME Team finalists. Ten judges had the unenviable task of whittling the talented submissions down to a final fourteen, and somehow they were able to separate these finalists from the other talented entries.

2016 Australian FAME Team

“It’s always wonderful to see familiar faces who didn’t make it last time giving it another shot after working all year to improve themselves,” said Brett McKinnon, Creative Director for the 2017 FAME Team. “It’s exactly this dedication and perseverance which we look for in a FAME Team member. It’s such a hard job to find our final 14 but now I can’t wait to see what they will deliver in Round II.”

The judging process required a full day of reading submissions and allocating points, after which three adjudicators combined the scores to see which finalists would progress to the next round.

“It’s always amazing to judge the FAME Team entries,” shared Alex Fuchs, La Biosthetique ANZ Creative Director. “The passion and enthusiasm for their work jumps out of every page of their entry and it was wonderful to see so many new names in the mix this year.”

2017 Australian FAME Team finalists

These talented young hairdressers, all under the age of 35, will compete in a live skills demonstration and model presentation on February 13, after which the four winners will be decided. The new team members will be announced at the Australian Hair Fashion Awards on April 2nd.

“We saw some really strong submissions – I think we are seeing the calibre of entrant rising year on year so I already know this year’s FAME Team are going to be something special,” said Lauren McCowan, Haircare Australia Creative Director.

Congratulations to the finalists, listed below.

Anmar Sahar – Djurra Lifestyle @anmarsahar
Brodie-Lee Stubbins – Rokstar @brodieleerokstar
Cara Mio Robinson – Fruition @carakamikaze
Claudia Cataldo – Cataldo’s @cataldos_salon
Dion Lee Andrew – TONI&GUY Georges @dlacreative
Emily Alterator – Fruition @lemony_snicket
Jamie Furlan – Xiang Hair @jamiefurlan
Joe Ribera – Visare Hair Studio @joe_ribera
Laura Hudson – Laura Hudson Hair Design @laurahudsonhairdesign
Laura Spinney – Academie Salon @lauraexplorer
Marie Cain – Head Studio @mim_i_am_
Shantelle Neate – Fruition @yellowspoons
Simone Jade Menenti – Sloans Of Lane Cove @simonejadem
Tiffany Decaux – Boris The Cuttery @tiffanydecaux

Click here for Styleicons|TV.

, , , ,