Top Menu


2017 Australian Hair Fashion Awards Finalists Announced

Last night, the finalists in 15 categories of the Australian Hair Fashion Awards (AHFAs) 2017 were announced via Facebook Live Stream after being selected from hundreds of entries – and let us just state the obvious, there is a lot of talent in this list.

Naming every finalist from the coveted Australian Hairdresser of the Year to state awards, makeup, fashion and photography awards and categories that focus on colour, men’s hair and Avant Garde, as well as sections for apprentices and emerging hairdressers, it was a big night for the many skilled hairdressers and artists listed below.

The winners will be announced at the high-profile event held as always at the Luna Park Big Top, this year on Sunday April 2nd. The event is the award ceremony’s 25th iteration, and it partners with L’Oréal Professionnel  for what is sure to be a historic night. With such dynamic entries and skill on display, we’re keener than ever to see who will take out the trophies.

View the finalists, their social media handles and entry images below.

Australian Hairdresser of the Year Finalists

Craig Smith @craigo_skull
Damien Rinaldo @borisboriswho
Frank Apostolopoulos @frankapostolopoulos
Kobi Bokshish @kobibokshish
Oscar Cullinan @oscaroscarsalons
Uros Mikic @uros.mikic

Session Stylist of the Year Finalists

James Pearce @jamesepearce
Koh Tanyawanichapong @kohtanyawanichapong
Phillip Barwick @philipbarwick
Renya Xydis @ @valonzhaircutters
Richard Kavanagh @richardkavanagh
Sarah Laidlaw @sarahlaidlaw

Creative Colourist of the Year Finalists

Adrian Rotolo @ibizahair
Danielle Solier @danni_solier
Jack Morton @jackmortoncreative
Kyra Williams @kyrawau
Sanja Scher @sanjascher
Stevie English @stevieenglishhair

Artistic Team of the Year Finalists

e SALON @esalonhair
2016 Fame Team @natesthekid @nadiasemanic @adamrichardisles @nicolekae_hairstylist
Intershape Artistic Team @intershapehair
Joey Scandizzo Salon @joeyscandizzosalon
Royals Hair Artistic Team @royalshair
Sebastian Professional Artistic Team @sebastianproanz

Men’s Hairdresser of the Year Finalists

Tori Gill @torigill_barber
Uros Mikic @uros.mikic
Rob Ferlaino @rokkmanbarbers
Fred Le Marche @fredlemarche
Sebastian Joseph @seb.jay
Madison Voloshin @badisonv

Avant Garde Hairdresser of the Year Finalists

Stephanie Bellairs @headgraffitibosslady
Nadia Semanic @nadiasemanic
Cherie Falco @cherieafalco
Chung-Yang Su @yoshisumelbourne
Sharon Blain @sharonblain
Shaun McGrath @shaunmmcgrath

Fashion Stylist of the Year Finalists

Leticia Dare @leticiadare
Luke Meakins @lukemeakins_stylist
Lydia-Jane Saunders @ljsstyling
Milana De Mina @de_mina

Make-Up Artist of the Year Finalists

Casey Gore @casey_gore
Chereine Waddell @chereine_waddell_mua
Holly Mudge
Lauren Cataldo @starluxey
Sarah Laidlaw @sarahlaidlaw
Tamzin Mulder @tamzinmakeup

NSW/ACT Hairdresser of the Year Finalists

Adam Ciaccia @adamciaccia
Jenni Tarrant @bondhairreligion
Maria Unali @maria_unali
Nicole Kae @nicolekae_hairstylist
Paloma Rose Garcia @palomarosegarcia
Scott Sloan @scottsloan

VIC Hairdresser of the Year Finalists

Hermiz Daniel @hermizdaniel
Jonny Candy @joanofpants
Michael Piastrino @ibizahair
Sanja Scher @sanjascher
Scott Condon @eskayowetea
Steffi Arabian @steffitanian

QLD Hairdresser of the Year Finalists

Amanda Menz @amandaleemenz
Andre Faiva @andrefaiva
Brodie Lee Stubbins @brodieleerokstar
Elle Schoemaker @steliospapastoowong
Jessica Longhurst @oscaroscarrobina
Laura Hudson @laurahudsonhairdesign

SA/TAS Hairdresser of the Year Finalists

Breeanna Carr @bree_za27
Dion la Bella @pepsimax87
Grant Norton @grantnortoneducation
Matthew Johnson @mj_bymatjohnson
Nathan Fraser @ parlourhair_glenelg
Sam James-Cockayne @samj15

WA/NT Hairdresser of the Year Finalists

Judith McEwen @toniandguyperth
Lisa Polini @lisapolini
Marie Cain @mim_i_am_
Melissa Gesualdo @melgesualdo
Pauline McCabe @ pauline_mccabehair
Stephanie Bellairs @headgraffitibosslady

Newcomer of the Year Finalists

Amanda Nedza @amanda_catalhair
Cara Mio Robinson @carakamikaze
Emma Gottwald @emmathehairdresser
Faye Redfern @fayeredfern
Jordan Robertson @jordanrobbohair
Nathan Cherrington @natesthekid

Apprentice of the Year Finalists

Ingrid Wolff @hairbywolff
Jasmine Heckenburg @jasminec_c
Nikki Hazell @nikkihazellhair
Michelle Nguyen @oscaroscarsalons
SeHee Jeon @se_hee_jeon
Louise Williamson @misslouhmua

For more information visit

Images via the Australian Hair Fashion Awards on Facebook

Click here for Styleicons|TV.

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Hair Industry News Straight To Your Inbox

All the information, inspiration and education you need in the salon sphere twice a week.

You have Successfully Subscribed!