500 hairdressers recently took over Brisbane, arriving at the Grand Plaza Ballroom at the Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre for the annual Australian Hair Industry Awards (AHIA) Gala Dinner last Sunday night. Festivities included entertainment by the Puzzle Dust Glow Show, the musical stylings of the Virtuosity band, expert compering by MC Will Fennell and, of course, the announcement of awards in 22 hairdressing categories, awarding salons, business owners and stylists across the states for a number of important reasons.

The awards singled out barbering, salon teams, managers, designs, apprentices, education initiatives, business acumen and salon excellence nation-wide. They also awarded a Hall of Fame recipient and the Vidal Sassoon Humanitarian Award, reminding all attendees how often hairdressing goes beyond just hair. Aditionally, the four winners inducted into the 2017 Hot Shots team on the night represented the best of what’s to come in the industry, taking home tools and product kits and looking forward to a myriad of education and editorial opportunities made to expose their talent.

The Hot Shots Team with Sponsors: Wella Professionals, ghd and Excellent Edges

Congratulations to the winners below!

AHIA winners 2017

Australian Salon Business of the Year
Bond Hair Religion

Special Recognition Award
Sustainable Salons Australia

Hall of Fame
Andrew O’Toole

Vidal Sassoon Humanitarian Award
Brett McKinnon

Australian Wholesaler of the Year
SA – Salon Haircare

Best Barber Business
Barber Boys

Best Customer Care
Elysium Hair Brisbane

Best Franchised Salon
TONI&GUY, Newtown

Best Marketing Award

Business Director/Owner of the Year
Brodie-Lee Stubbins, Rokstar

In Salon Training

Junior/Apprentice of the Year
Louise Williamson, Stevie English Hair

Newcomer of the Year
Tigerlamb Portside

Salon Design
Edwards & Co

Salon Manager of the Year
Kelcie Murray, Dare Hair

Salon Stylist of the Year
Leslie Henshaw, Next Hair

Salon Team of the Year
Elysium Hair Brisbane

State Salon of the Year NSW/ACT
Bond Hair Religion

State Salon of the Year QLD

State Salon of the Year SA
Orbe North Adelaide

State Salon of the Year VIC/TAS
Hoopla Salon

State Salon of the Year WA/NT
Revampd Hair Studio


Hot Shots Winners
The Fashionista: Idy Duong, Sloans of Lane Cove
The Visionary: Cherie Falco, Kinky Curly Straight
Rising Star Female: Anthea Allen, Helmet & Co.
Rising Star Male: Dion La Bella, Blow It’s a Hair Thing