Top Menu


2017 FAME Team Finalists Compete in Final Round

The battle round for the 2017 FAME Team took place on Monday this week, with a group of esteemed judges watching the fourteen finalists bring looks to life in the race for the four coveted titles.

Taking place at the La Biosthetique Academie in Waterloo, Sydney, contestants and judges flocked to the space for a full day of hair styling and scrutiny. The judging panel consisted of Sharon Blain, Leesa Smith, Richard Kavanagh, Jules Tognini, Sarah Laidlaw, Emiliano Vitale, Alex Fuchs, Brett Albury, INSTYLE Editor Cameron Pine, Sandy Chong and FAME Team Creative Director Brett McKinnon.

“As with previous years, I am so thrilled with the four finalists which the judging panel selected,” Brett said. “I am certain they will represent Australia in the most positive of lights both on a local and international stage and I can’t wait to kick off what will be a truly memorable year.”

Brett McKinnon

Finalists travelled for the final stage of the competition from all over the country, competing in a three part skills test (one styling brief with two cutting briefs), after being given instructions on the day itself. The final part was a live model presentation, where stylists prepared their signature look to reveal to the judges.

“I was really excited watching the finalists get to grips with and interpret the styling briefs, especially as one of them related to a show I had worked on,” said Richard. “It was fascinating to see 14 very different interpretations. The guys worked really hard under pressure”

“There was some bloody amazing talent in the room today,” Jules agreed. “We saw a lot of rad cuts and some great stage work. You can really see how much they want it and they should all be so proud for getting this far. I am just glad i wasn’t competing against them, they would have wiped the floor with me.”

The 2017 FAME Team will be announced at the Australian Hair Fashion Awards on April 2nd. Good luck to all the finalists, listed below (in case you needed the re-introduction).

Anmar Sahar – Djurra Lifestyle @anmarsahar
Brodie-Lee Stubbins – Rokstar @brodieleerokstar
Cara Mio Robinson – Fruition @carakamikaze
Claudia Cataldo – Cataldo’s @cataldos_salon
Dion Lee Andrew – TONI&GUY Georges @dlacreative
Emily Alterator – Fruition @lemony_snicket
Jamie Furlan – Xiang Hair @jamiefurlan
Joe Ribera – Visare Hair Studio @joe_ribera
Laura Hudson – Laura Hudson Hair Design @laurahudsonhairdesign
Laura Spinney – Academie Salon @lauraexplorer
Marie Cain – Head Studio @mim_i_am_
Shantelle Neate – Fruition @yellowspoons
Simone Jade Menenti – Sloans Of Lane Cove @simonejadem
Tiffany Decaux – Boris The Cuttery @tiffanydecaux

Click here for Styleicons|TV.

, , , ,