In some important global hair industry news, the finalists for the 2020 British Hairdressing Awards have been named. After already announcing the finalists for their pinnacle award, British Hairdresser of the Year, now all the finalists have been revealed, in a myriad of diverse and dynamic categories.

2019 British Hairdressing Awards winners

Judging took place in October, as the panel attended the process in controlled time slots, which allowed them to deliberate independently, wearing the relevant PPE, and within the generous space of ExCeL London.

Since 2019, the event has offered the bold International Hairdresser of the Year Award, last year won by Australia’s own Jacky Chan. This year Jacky is again nominated with fellow Oscar Oscar colleague Nathan Armagnacq, while Judith McEwen from TONI&GUY in Perth Central is another Australian nominee. They will compete against finalists from Canada, Japan, Spain and the USA for the title. Congratulations to our Australian representatives and good luck!

Jacky Chan wins Best International Hairdresser in 2019

Hairdressing Journal’s British Hairdressing Awards are sponsored by Schwarzkopf Professional and will take place virtually on Monday November 30 2020. Tune in and take note of all the finalists below.



Paul Falltrick, GFC Hairdressing

Lisa Graham & Joseph I’Anson, Mark Leeson

Antonio Palladino, Antonio Giovanni Hairdressing

Callum Standen-May, STANDENMAY

Angelo Vallillo, DNA Art Space

Kai Wan, Pkai Hair


Nathan Armagnacq & Jacky Chan, Oscar Oscar Chadstone, Australia

Antoinette Beenders, Aveda, USA

Alexis Ferrer, Anna Ferrer, Spain                           

Shogo Ldeguchi, Fabric, Japan

Judith McEwen, TONI&GUY Perth Central, Australia

Alain Pereque, AP Education, Canada

Silas Tsang, Blushes, Canada


Jordanna Cobella, Cobella

Daniele De Angelis, TONI&GUY Shoreditch

Errol Douglas, Errol Douglas London

Danilo Giangreco, Danilo Hair Boutique

Anthony Grant, Linnaean Hair Salon

Andy Heasman, RUSH Hair Victoria


Royston Blythe, Royston Blythe

Tracey Devine-Smith, French & Ivi

Stephanie Gamble & Ashley Gamble, Ashley Gamble Salon

Michelle Griffin, Griffins

Shaun Hall, Mark Leeson

Nick Malenko, Royston Blythe

North Eastern

Ross Charles, Ross Charles

Sophie Gibson, Hooker + Young

Rick Roberts, Rick Roberts

Michelle Rooney, Hooker + Young

Emma Simmons, Salon 54

Jonathan Turner, Hooker + Young

Northern Ireland

Julie Cherry, Shane Bennett Salon

Zara Colhoun, Stafford Hair

Julian Dalrymple, Sittingroom @ The Hub

Keith Kane, Keith Kane Hair International

Sharon Malcolm, Sharon Malcolm Hairdressing

Nicola Murray, Nicola Murray Hair

North Western

John Claxton, Claxton Hair Co.

Stephanie Darbyshire, TONI&GUY Deansgate

Laura Kulik & Ria Kulik, The Hairbank

Marcello Moccia & Karen Perry, Room 97 Creative

Gary Taylor, Edward & Co

Melenie Tudor, En Route


Dylan Brittain, Rainbow Room International

David Corbett, David Corbett Hairdressing

Jason Hall, Jason Hall Hairdressing

Gary Hunter & Leslie Hunter, Frances Hunter Hairdressing

Kay McIntyre, McIntyres

Caroline Sanderson, Ego Hair Design


Seung-Ki Baek, RUSH Hair Epsom

David Baker & Ben Hendry, The Vault Hair & Spa

Thomas Hills, TH1 Hair

Altin Ismaili, Marc Antoni, Reading

Leonardo Rizzo, Sanrizz Guildford

Krysia West, Perfectly Posh Hair

Wales & South West

Craig Chapman, Craig Chapman Salon

Ijan Davies Emrus, Ocean Hairdressing

Josh Goldsworthy, Goldsworthys

Martene Mallett & Alison Adams, MODE

Ken Picton, Ken Picton Salon

Karoliina Saunders, Karoliina Saunders Hair Design



Lathaniel Chambers, Lathaniel Couture Hair and Beauty

Anthony Grant, Linnaean Hair Salon

Aycan Kemal, New York Hair Design

Rick Roberts, Rick Roberts

Caroline Sanderson, Ego Hair Design

Anne Veck, Anne Veck

Darren Webster, Electric Space

Artistic Team

MODE Artistic Team

RUSH Artistic Team

TONI&GUY Artistic Team

Essensuals Artistic Team

DNA Art Space Artistic Team

Hooker + Young Artistic Team

Avant Garde

Seung-Ki Baek, RUSH Hair Epsom

Emmanuel Esteban, Salon Sloane

Brooke Evans, Be Ironbridge

Sylvestre Finold, Metropolis Hairdressing

William Gray & Bianca Gray, Grays International

Robert Masciave, Metropolis Hairdressing

Anne Veck, Anne Veck

Schwarzkopf Professional British Colour Technician of the Year

Clayde Baumann, D&J Ambrose

Paul Dennison, Ken Picton Salon

James Earnshaw, Hazel & Haydn

Suzanne McGill & Dylan Brittain, Rainbow Room International

Jo O’Neill, TONI&GUY Sloane Square

Chris Williams, RUSH Hair Chichester

Gary Hooker & Michael Young, Hooker + Young


Craig Chapman, Craig Chapman Salon

Charlie Cullen, Joe & Co

Tracey Devine-Smith, French & Ivi

Andrea Giles & Terri Kay, Mark Leeson

Jason Hall, Jason Hall Hairdressing

Christian Wiles, Christian Wiles Hairdressing


Alessandro Barca, TONI&GUY Canary Wharf

Molly Drummond, Hooker + Young

Kate Drury, MODE

Sam Elliot, TONI&GUY, Covent Garden

Tori Ellis, KAM Hair and Body Spa

Lauren Killick, TH1 Hair

Trend Image

Sarah Black                                       

Martin Crean, MODE

Ashley Gamble, Ashley Gamble Salon

Steven Goldsworthy, Goldsworthys

Sharon Malcolm, Sharon Malcolm Hairdressing

Darrel Starkey-Gettings, Taylors Hair Studio