Mariam Seddiq X Dyson X 2020 - 2021 FAME Team led by Lauren McCowan

2021 for the hairdressing community ended in the best possible way, with the gala event celebrating the Australian Hair Fashion Awards (AHFAs) congregating the industry near and far, celebrating immense talent and giving guests a much-needed opportunity to party after a difficult year.

Steven Khalil X Dyson X Renya Xydis

22 award titles were delineated into groups of Creative, State, Product and Business categories, as well as the pinnacle Hairdresser of the Year title. Congratulations to Hairdresser of the Year Hermiz of Joey Scandizzo Salon, who took to the stage and heralded the significance of hair art to cheers from the crowd.

Many of the winners were in the room of 600, however, as is always true of current times, many celebrated in their home towns and joined via live stream, like Salon of the Year Cirlces of Hair who were partying in Western Australia, Brisbane’s Damian Gray whose shocked face took over the big screen and Adelaide’s Lauren Cooper who was joined behind the lens by her pup, a crowd favourite.

On stage, NSW/ACT Hairdresser of the Year Jordan Hone had the audience in tears as he honoured the words his father used to motivate him to persevere, as his father watched touchingly from the crowd. Industry legend Natalie Anne picked up two trophies, for Digital Influencer and Transformation Stylist, and business acumen, product innovation and education were recognised as well. See the full list of talented winners below.

Natalie Anne

Beyond so many major award highlights, the event was a welcome opportunity to have some fun. Partnering with Dyson, hair art and fashion were a focus, and the proceedings began with an awe-inspiring fashion show that collaborated with fashion titans Mariam Seddiq and Steven Khalil. The structured, bright pieces by Mariam Seddiq were complemented by Avant Garde hair fashion looks by the 2020 – 2021 FAME Team led by Lauren McCowan, while Steven Khalil’s always dreamy take on glitz and glamour was styled by editorial icon and Dyson Hair Ambassador Renya Xydis.

The important night was bookended by must-attend arrival and after parties, sponsored by Thryv and K18 respectively, where the industry finally had their chance to catch up after months of separation and let loose with some drinks and dessert.

The formal event was hosted by renowned presenter Erin Holland and treated guests to entertainment by musical powerhouse Ricki-Lee, who had the audience out of their chairs and dancing mid-show. Celebrities such as Delta Goodrem and Bachelor couple Holly Kingston and Jimmy Nicholson were in attendance and sharing on social media to support the hair industry.

Sloans, Artistic Team of the Year

Putting 2021 behind us all with a bang, the AHFAs were the exact antidote needed to lockdowns, border closures and shut salons, leading the way by highlighting the talent, camaraderie, connection and pure fun that is the hair community. On to 2022.

Congratulations to all the winners, listed below.

Creative Categories, presented by L’Oréal Professionnel Paris
Artistic Team of the Year: Sloans Hair
Men’s Hairdresser of the Year: Luke Munn, Attaboy
Creative Colourist of the Year: Danielle Solier, Xiang Hair
Newcomer of the Year: James Morris, BIBA Gertrude Street
Apprentice of the Year: Tia Wright-Pihama, TONI&GUY Perth Central
Hair Shot of the Year: Jacky Chan, Oscar Oscar Salons Chadstone
Transformation Stylist: Natalie Anne
Makeup Artist of the Year: Shella Martin

Product Categories, presented by Thryv
Best New Professional Hair Care Product: Davroe CURLiCUE Cleansing Clay + Conditioner + Oil
Best New Professional Hair Styling Product: R+Co Bleu – Smooth & Seal Mist
Most Innovative Hair Tool: L’Oréal Steam Pod 3.0

Business Categories
Salon on the Year: Circles of Hair
Excellence in Education: Individual: Kate Reid
Excellence in Education: Brand: Barbery – The Craft of a Barber
Digital Influencer of the Year: Natalie Anne
Marketing Team of the Year: Matrix Australia

State Categories, presented by ALFAPARF MILANO
NSW Hairdresser of the Year: Jordan Hone, Sloans North Sydney
QLD Hairdresser of the Year: Damian Gray, Fruition Hair
VIC Hairdresser of the Year: Michael Piastrino, Ibiza Hair
WA/NT Hairdresser of the Year: Jo Banks, Hair Art
SA/TAS Hairdresser of the Year: Lauren Cooper, Etcher Salon

Australian Hair Fashion Awards Hairdresser of the Year
Hermiz, Joey Scandizzo Salon