The Australian Hair Industry (Business) Awards took place over the weekend, livestreamed on social media and connecting the national industry on Sunday November 28. The evening celebrated the talent of the industry by announcing a list of esteemed winners across 27 categories.

The AHIA (Business) was launched in 2014 by Mocha Group and 2021 saw the largest number of entries ever received, despite challenging circumstances over the past two years. Salon winners were announced by state, in design, for marketing, customer care, management, environmental awareness, education and much more, while products and innovations were also awarded. Bond Hair Religion took out the coveted title of Australian Salon of the Year.

Bond Hair Religion

“Yet another awards gala cancellation couldn’t dampen our excitement and keeping in touch with all of our finalists via social media during the livestream announcement really felt like we were all together again. My hugest congratulations to all our deserving winners and you best believe that we will all make up for it at the 2022 AHIAs as the industry finally reconnects,” shared Mocha’s Linda Woodhead.

Sponsors for the event included EVY, Timely, Wella, L’Oréal, Salon Lane, Excellent Edges, Revlon, Redken, Zing Project, Schwarzkopf, Shortcuts, Sustainable Salons, Kitomba, KMS, Goldwell, Private Label Dynamics, Hot Tools and DNA.

Bond Hair Religion

The illustrious judging panel consisted of experts such as Charles Marcus (Canada), Ruth Hunsley (UK), Faye Murry and Julie Bellinger-Gibb (UK) as well as media including Nicole Healy AKA Melbourne Hair Blogger, Samantha McMeekin of Beautyheaven, Amy Starr, Louise May of Hair Biz and Clare Lamberth of Beauty Biz.

Winning over extensive and skilled competition in this monumental year, congratulations to all the winners, listed below.

Sponsored By HARBIZ

Pure Organic Goddess Shampoo & Conditioner

Sponsored By HARBIZ

Heliplex One Step Bond Complex

Sponsored By HARBIZ

DNA Antifrizz Hydro Crème

Best Business Performance of the Year
Sponsored By HARBIZ

Foil Me

Salon Team Member of the Year
Sponsored By Excellent Edges

Evie Golding, Rokstar

Salon Manager/Co-Ordinator of the Year
Sponsored By Wella Professionals

Meagan O’Connor, Oscar Oscar Salons – Broadbeach

Business Director/Owner of the Year
Sponsored By Kitomba

Amy Gaudie, Urban Chic

Sole Operator of the Year
Sponsored By Salon Lane

Nicole Kae

Salon Team of the Year
Sponsored By Goldwell

Educator of the Year – Individual
Sponsored By Redken

Jules Tognini

Educator of the Year – Organisation
Sponsored By Sustainable Salons

MIG Training

Best In Salon Training
Sponsored By Zing Project

DiMattia & Co

Best Salon Design
Sponsored By KMS

Allure The Salon

Best Marketing
Sponsored By Shortcuts

The Fox & The Hair

Best Customer Care
Sponsored By Schwarzkopf Professional

Bond Hair Religion

Best Eco Salon
Sponsored By DNA Organics

Little Birdie Hair Co

Salon Business Newcomer of the Year
Sponsored By Revlon Professional


State Salon Business of the Year NSW/ACT
Sponsored By Hot Tools

Bond Hair Religion

State Salon Business of the Year QLD
Sponsored By Wella Professionals

Tigerlamb Coorparoo

State Salon Business of the Year SA/TAS
Sponsored By Timely

SJ Establishment

State Salon Business of the Year VIC
Sponsored By EVY Professional

Oscar Oscar – Chadstone

State Salon Business of the Year WA/NT
Sponsored By L’Oreal Professionnel

Circles of Hair

Sponsored By Private Label Dynamics

Salon Depot

Special Recognition Award
Sponsored By L’Oreal Professionnel

Leanne Cutler, Siren Marketing & Hair Shots 2 the World

Sponsored By HAIRBIZ

Bond Hair Religion