A quick scan of the 100 finalists listed in the Association of International Professional Press (AIPP) Awards shows just how impressive Australia’s representation is, with 19 different nominations (that’s nearly one fifth of nominations) for our national hairdressers.

holding a gold trophy

This year, the international competition received a total of 679 hair collections from hairdressers in 32 countries, across five categories; Best Commercial, Best Avant Garde, Best Photo, Best Men and Best Video. Final judging will commence next month, and will be announced at the end of September, after which an awards ceremony will take place at the Alternative Hair Show in London in October.

Australia has had past success in this competition, most recently through Adelaidean hairdresser Uros Mikic who won the men’s category last year. Uros is nominated again in the men’s category, along with other Aussie finalists, Jules Tognini, Mary Alamine, Aiden Horwood, Stefano Silvestri and Yuki Kano. For Best Commercial, Caterina Di Biase and Papas and Pace are nominated, while Shaun McGrath and Nadia Semanic are finalists for Avant Garde. In the Best Photo category Caterina is nominated once again, as well as Daniel Hermiz, é SALON, Cataldo’s and Kobi Bokshish. Lastly, é SALON, Caterina, Kobi and Papas & Pace are also nominated in the video category.

Pretty strong representation from our compatriots, and while everyone else is focused on the Olympics, we’ll be turning our attention to these hairdressers to bring home the gold.

See a list of finalists below with Australian finalists in bold.


Alan Keville (Ireland)
Ben Russell @ Rush Hair (UK)
Caterina Di Biase (Australia)
David Barron (USA)
Francesco Group (UK)
Goldworthy’s (UK)
Hair Plaza (Netherlands)
Jean Claude Aubry (France)
Jock Robson (New Zealand)
John Simpson (USA)
Jose Boix @ Toni&Guy (Spain)
Laurent Decreton (France)
Mark Leeson (UK)
Mark van Westerop (Netherlands)
Medusa Hair (UK)
Papas & Pace (Australia)
Petra Mechurova (Czech Republic)
Raffel Pages (Spain)
Shogo Ideguchi (Japan)
Vivienne Mackinder (USA)


Allen Ruiz (USA)
Angelo Seminara (UK)
Anne Veck (UK)
Christophe Gaillet (France)
Chrystofer Benson (USA)
Eros (Taiwan)
Gonzalo Zarauza & Manuel Mon (Spain)
Indira Schauwecker @ Toni&Guy (UK)
Jason Hall (UK)
Jerome Guezou (France)
Jesus Oliver (Spain/UK)
Jose Siero @ Sile Peluqueros (Spain)
Marcela Blechova (Czech Republic)
Marie Bogaert (France)
Mark van Westerop (Netherlands)
Nadia Semanic @ Toni&Guy (Australia)
Natalya Zheglova (Russia)
Shaun McGrath (Australia)
Shy & Flo (Switzerland)
Silas Tsang (Canada)


Alain Pereque (Canada)
Anna Pacitto (Canada)
Anne Veck (UK)
Cataldo’s (Australia)
Caterina Di Biase (Australia)
Cos Sakkas @ Toni&Guy (UK)
D&J Ambrose (UK)
Dallan Flint (USA)
Daniel Hermiz @ Joey Scandizzo (Australia)
é Salon (Australia)
Itch (Taiwan)
Jamie Stevens (UK)
Kobi Bokshish (Australia)
Michaelangelo Marenco (USA)
Neil Barton (UK)
Robert Masciave (UK)
Silas Tsang (Canada)
Wayne Lloyd (Ireland)
WeLove Salons (UK)
X-Presion (Spain)


Aiden Horwood (Australia)
Carlton (South Africa)
David Corbett (UK)
David Siero @ Toni&Guy (UK)
Frederic Mendes (Luxembourg)
Hair & More (Spain)
Jamie Stevens (UK)
Jules Tognini (Australia)
Kevin Luchmun @ Toni&Guy (UK)
Kinki (Netherlands)
Mary Alamine (Australia)
Ramiro Mata (Spain)
Robert Stary (Czech Republic)
Rodrick Samuels (USA)
Rustam Mirasov (Russia)
Sanrizz (UK)
Stefano Silvestri @ Portfolio Hair (Australia)
Tyana Nichole @ Pop Opera (Canada)
Uros Mikic (Australia)
Yuki Kano @ Toni&Guy (Australia)


Carol Bruguera (Spain)
Caterina Di Biase (Australia)
é Salon (Australia)
FreeStyle Club (Italy)
Hair & More (Spain)
Identity (Spain)
Indira Schauwecker @ Toni&Guy (UK)
Jerome Guezou (France)
Jerry Rais (Italy)
Johanna Cree Brown (UK)
Klaus Peter Ochs (Germany)
Kobi Bokshish (Australia)
Papas & Pace (Australia)
Sándor Szél (Hungary)
Sandrine Ruiz (France)
Taylor Taylor London (UK)
Ton Vangard (Spain)
Toni&Guy (UK)
X-Presion (Spain)
Wilfrid Karloff (France)