The Australian Hair Industry Awards (Business) have announced their 2021 finalists, with an extensive list unveiled to social media and providing a moment of celebration in an ongoing difficult time for the hair industry and country at large.

The 2021 awards marked the largest number of entries ever received in AHIA history, with the Salon Team, Salon Newcomer, QLD State Salon, Salon Design and Business Director/Owner categories particularly receiving an unprecedented number of entries.

2019 AHIA (Business) Winners

Brand partners to the awards, which have been in operation since 2014, include EVY, Timely, Wella, L’Oréal, Salon Lane, Excellent Edges, Revlon, Redken, Zing Project, Schwarzkopf, Shortcuts, Sustainable Salons, Kitomba, KMS, Goldwell, Private Label Dynamics, Hot Tools and DNA.

The esteemed judging panel consists of Charles Marcus (Canada), Ruth Hunsley (UK), Anna O’Gorman, Faye Murry, Julie Bellinger-Gibb (UK), Julie Cross, Narelle Lancaster, Bianca Boulden and Alexandra Bilisi (Switzerland) as well as media including Nicole Healy of Melbourne Hair Blogger, Samantha McMeekin of Beautyheaven, freelance beauty journalist Amy Starr, Louise May of Hair Biz and Clare Lamberth of Beauty Biz.

“What a line-up of entries! I’ve been so impressed with the quality and how many amazing submissions there were this year,” said Ruth Browne, Box Hill Institute. “It is refreshing to see how many salons are going well despite, these challenging times, working together as a team and looking after their staff with a determination I have never seen before.”

“What an incredible standard all of the entries were. It was not easy judging, that is for sure! I was so impressed and so excited for our industry and the people choosing this industry as a career, it sure is in good hands! It was such an honour to be involved,” added Julie Cross.

In addition to the categories below, titles such as Australian Wholesaler of the Year, sponsored by Private Label Dynamics, and Australian Salon of the Year, sponsored by Mocha, will be announced on the night as determined through highest overall votes and points from state winners. The Special Recognition Award, sponsored by L’Oréal Professionnel, and the Hall Of Fame and Vidal Sassoon Humanitarian of the Year, sponsored by Mocha Group, will also be announced on the night.

All winners will be announced at the 2021 AHIA Business Gala Night on Sunday November 28 at the Gold Coast Convention and Exhibition Centre.

Congratulations to the finalists.

Sponsored By HARBIZ

Aromaganic Qplexx Shampoo & Conditioner
Georgiemane Repair & Hydrate Shampoo & Hair Mask
Juuce Miracle D’Frizz Smoothing Shampoo & Conditioner
milk_shake curl passion Shampoo & Conditioner
Pure Organic Goddess Shampoo & Conditioner
Alterna Replenishing Moisture CC Cream
DNA UV Guard Moisturiser
Heliplex One Step Bond Complex
Pure Sacred Mask
Wilde By Oscar Moisture Restore Masque
DNA Antifrizz Hydro Crème
Juuce Botanical Oil Spray
milk_shake Amazing
OSiS+ Dust it
Pure Texture Paste

Best Business Performance of the Year
Sponsored By HARBIZ

Conceptual Brands
Foil Me
Salon Diary
(A Six Underground Media and The Secret Fox Collaboration)
The Secret Fox Education

Salon Team Member of the Year
Sponsored By Excellent Edges

Andy Kwan, TONI&GUY Cronulla
Anna McNamara, Ella&Jade
Carla Wilson, Elysium Hair Brisbane
Elle Broadhurst, Cobelle Creative
Evie Golding, Rokstar
Leanne Kay, Stevie English Hair
Maddison Power, Ella&Jade
Meghan King, Sloans of North Sydney
Natasha Tsangaris, Luke Reynolds Hairdressing
William Webb, Ella&Jade

Salon Manager/Co-Ordinator of the Year
Sponsored By Wella Professionals

Cassie Cook, Epic Hair Designs – Hope Island
Cherie Cowan, Sloans Salons
Emily Truong, Ella&Jade
Fallan Pickering, Circles of Subiaco
Jessica McHenry, Fallachi Hair
Meagan O’Connor, Oscar Oscar Salons – Broadbeach
Paige Illicevs, Little Birdie Hair Co Salons
Petria Smith, Little Birdie Hair Co Salons
Torrie Lennon, Rokstar

Business Director/Owner of the Year
Sponsored By Kitomba

Alannah Read, Ella&Jade
Amy Gaudie, Urban Chic
Brendon Mann, Epic Hair Designs
Brodie-Lee Tsiknaris, Rokstar
Helen Owens, Tigerlamb
Kerrie DiMattia, DiMattia & Co
Kristie Kesic, Cobelle Creative
Luke Reynolds, Luke Reynolds Hairdressing
Sam James, S J Establishment
Scott Sloan, Sloans
Sharlene Lee, Circles of Hair
Louise Blake, TONI&GUY Cronulla

Sole Operator of the Year
Sponsored By Salon Lane

Amberley Gittings
Jools Purchase
Nicole Kae
Sofie Rocca
Tara Walker

Salon Team of the Year
Sponsored By Goldwell

Bespoke Hair Artistry
Cobelle Creative
Elysium Hair Brisbane
Royals Hair
Rubi Hair – Malvern
SJ Establishment
Sloans of Lane Cove
The Hair Pin
TONI&GUY Perth Central
TONI&GUY Brisbane
TONI&GUY Cronulla

Educator of the Year – Individual
Sponsored By Redken

Bernadette Beswick
Cathy King
Dario Cotroneo
Jude McEwen
Jules Tognini
Kristina Russell
Laura MacLeod
Michael Belcastro
Monique McMahon
Nathan Yip

Educator of the Year – Organisation
Sponsored By Sustainable Salons

AREA Academy
Barbery – The Craft of a Barber Academy
Box Hill Institute
MIG Training
Royals Hair Academy
The Secret Fox Education

Best In Salon Training
Sponsored By Zing Project

DiMattia & Co
Epic Hair Designs
Luke Reynolds Hairdressing
TONI&GUY Cronulla

Best Salon Design
Sponsored By KMS

Allure The Salon
Bond Hair Religion
Headcase Hair
In Awe Salon
La Sorella
Maples Lane
Pélo by Lago
Polly and Stone
Tigerlamb West End

Best Marketing
Sponsored By Shortcuts

AMD Hairdressing
Beau Gordon Hair
Epic Hair Designs
Fallachi Hair
Little Birdie Hair Co
Luke Reynolds Hairdressing
Pélo by Lago
SJ Establishment
The Fox & The Hair

Best Customer Care
Sponsored By Schwarzkopf Professional

Bond Hair Religion
DiMattia & Co
Elysium Hair Brisbane
Epic Hair Designs
Little Birdie Hair Co
Luke Reynolds Hairdressing
Ms Monaco Hair Society
Nivarna Hair Studio
SJ Establishment
TONI&GUY Brisbane
TONI&GUY Cronulla

Best Eco Salon
Sponsored By DNA Organics

AMD Hairdressing
George & Ivy Hairdressing
Hair Art & Beauty
Little Birdie Hair Co
Pierrot’s Hair Studio

Salon Business Newcomer of the Year
Sponsored By Revlon Professional

Cinco Hair Boutique
Epic Hair Designs – Hope Island
Letitia Booth Hair
Omorfia Hair- Woody Point
Oscar Oscar Salons – Burleigh
Pélo by Lago
Polly and Stone
Salon Purpose
Style Express Australia
The Cleo Collective
Tigerlamb – West End

State Salon Business of the Year NSW/ACT
Sponsored By Hot Tools

Bespoke Hair Artistry
Bond Hair Religion
DiMattia & Co
Elle J Hair
Royals Hair Brookvale
TONI&GUY Cronulla

State Salon Business of the Year QLD
Sponsored By Wella Professionals

Elysium Hair Brisbane
Epic Hair Designs
Luke Reynolds Hairdressing
Ms Monaco Hair Society
Oscar Oscar – Carindale
Oscar Oscar Salons – Broadbeach
The Hair Pin
The Place Hairdressing
Tigerlamb Coorparoo
Urban Chic

State Salon Business of the Year SA/TAS
Sponsored By Timely

Acqua Lounge Hair Studio
House of Sophia
SJ Establishment

State Salon Business of the Year VIC
Sponsored By EVY Professional

AMD Hairdressing
Oscar Oscar – Chadstone
Rubi Hair Malvern

State Salon Business of the Year WA/NT
Sponsored By HAIRBIZ

Circles of Hair
George & Ivy Hairdressing
Pierrot’s Hair Studio
Revampd Hair Studio

Sponsored By Private Label Dynamics

NSW/ACT – AMR Hair & Beauty
QLD – Salon Depot
SA – Haircare Group
VIC/TAS – Salon Cosmetics
WA/NT – Hairmart