Top Menu


Entries Open for Hair Expo Awards 2014


Entries for the annual Schwarzkopf Professional Hair Expo Awards are now open for Australian and New Zealand hairdressers.

2013 Australian Hairdresser of the Year, Frank Apostolopoulos

Celebrating its 29th year with a bang, the 2014 awards will be taking place at a new venue – The Star in Darling Harbour.

Submissions across all categories open for general entry will be accepted until 5pm, 17th February 2014. Following preliminary judging, finalists will be announced at a cocktail reception in Sydney on Tuesday 11th March.

Set to be the largest it has ever been with 17 awards up for grabs, this is an opportunity to follow in the footsteps of current title-holder of Australian Hairdresser of the Year, Frank Apostolopoulos from Biba.

“This was definitely the biggest highlight in my career,” said Frank. “To win the industry’s highest accolade was an absolute honour. Having my name called out in front of my heroes and past and present winners is a memory I will cherish forever.”

The awards at Hair Expo are the longest running and most respected hairdressing awards in the Southern Hemisphere and set an industry benchmark for the calibre of Australian and New Zealand hairdressers. Schwarzkopf Professional has been the exclusive sponsor since 2009.

“Our 2014 awards categories consolidate the extremely popular direction we took last year,” said Hair Expo Event Director Julia Erben. “By broadening the levels of recognition within the awards, with the introduction of Emerging Hairdresser of the Year and Men’s Hairdresser of the Year, we have enabled more of our hugely talented hairdressers to enter categories more suited to their level of experience and specialisation. And this was clearly demonstrated by the quality and quantity of entries into the 2013 competition.”

Winners across all categories will be announced at the awards gala held during the Hair Expo long weekend on Monday 9th June 2014.

Hair Expo Australian Hairdressing Awards Categories:

Australian Hairdresser of the Year

New Zealand Hairdresser of the Year

Colour Technician of the Year

Emerging Hairdresser of the Year

Men’s Hairdresser of the Year

New Creative Force

Apprentice / Student of the Year

Salon Design

Salon Team of the Year

Session Stylist of the Year

Educator of the Year

Education Organisation of the Year

Excellence in Marketing

Business Performance of the Year

Photographic Collection of the Year

People’s Choice Award

Hall of Fame


Note: The awards period is March 2013 to February 2014.

For more information about the Schwarzkopf Professional Hair Expo Awards and to enter visit 



Click here for Styleicons|TV.

Hair Industry News Straight To Your Inbox

All the information, inspiration and education you need in the salon sphere twice a week.

You have Successfully Subscribed!