Top Menu


Finalists Announced for 2017 AHIA Awards

The fourth annual Australian Hair Industry Awards (AHIA) will honours its esteemed winners next month – but first, the list of finalists has been announced from hundreds of online entries.

2016 AHIA Winners

With mere weeks leading up to the event, set to take place on March 26th in the Plaza Ballroom, Brisbane Convention and Exhibition, familiarise yourselves with the talented nominees below.

Each winner will receive a crystal trophy, editorial coverage and other prizes. In addition to the major awards being contested by these finalists, the evening will also announce the Refectocil 2017 Hall of Fame award winner, the Vidal Sassoon Humanitarian Award and a Special Recognition Award, as well as the Affinage Professional-sponsored 2017 Wholesaler of the Year Award, as decided by online public vote (each state winner has been announced below, as well, and all are now in the running for the national title).

Whatever the award, just to be nominated is an achievement. Good luck and congratulations to the stylists and salons below.

Junior/Apprentice of the Year

Alyssia Pearson, TONI&GUY Broadbeach
Amy Motteram, Pierrot’s Hair Studios
Brittany Kelly, Elysium Hair Brisbane
Ingrid Wolff, Blow It’s A Hair Thing
Louise Williamson, Stevie English Hair
Nikki Hazell, e SALON

Salon Stylist of the Year

Elle Schoemaker, Stelios Papas
Helen Billingham, KDelmé Hairdressing
Leslie Henshaw, Next Hair
Maddison Lamb, Luke Reynolds Hairdressing
Selina Chhaur, Blow It’s A Hair Thing
Vee Nguyen, Blow It’s A Hair Thing

Salon Manager of the Year

Debbie Litkowski, Chumba Concept Salon
Kelcie Murray, Dare Hair
Leanne Kemph, Luke Reynolds Hairdressing
Lou Fimmano, Barber Boys

Business Director/Owner of the Year

Brodie-Lee Stubbins, Rokstar
Dion La Bella, Hung Tran & Steve La Bella, Blow It’s A Hair Thing
Don De Sanctis, Barber Boys
Kaarina Hamilton & Dwayne Hawthorne, KDelme Hairdressing
Kristie Kesic, Stelios Papas
Luke Reynolds, Luke Reynolds Hairdressing
Michelle Meade, Rubi Hair
Sam James-Cockayne, Orbe North Adelaide

Salon Design

apaR Hair Studio
Edwards & Co
Royals Hair
Rock Retro Scissors
Salon Express, Springfield
TONI&GUY, Armadale

Best Customer Care

Elysium Hair Brisbane
Foster & Co
Luke Reynolds Hairdressing
Tigerlamb Portside
Zucci Hairdressing

In Salon Training

Elysium Hair Brisbane
Luke Reynolds Hairdressing
Orbe North Adelaide
Pierrot’s Hair Studios

Best Marketing Award

Luke Reynolds Hairdressing
Pierrot’s Hair Studios
Rubi Hair Windsor

Salon Team of the Year

Blow It’s a Hair Thing
Elysium Hair Brisbane
KDelme Hairdressing
Luke Reynolds Hairdressing
Rubi Hair, Windsor
TONI&GUY, Broadbeach

Best Barber Business

Barber Boys
Brother Wolf Barber Shop
The Blacksmith Barbers
The Garage Barber Shop

Best Franchised Salon

Franck Provost Paris, Rozelle
Price Attack, Orion
Salon Express, Garden City
TONI&GUY, Broadbeach
TONI&GUY, Newtown

Newcomer of the Year

Blow It’s a Hair Thing, Firle
Foster and Co.
Ohana Hairdressing
Rubi Hair, Malvern
Samantha Jones Hair Company
Tigerlamb Portside

State Salon of the Year NSW/ACT

Bond Hair Religion
Foster & Co.
KDelme Hairdressing
Royals Hair

State Salon of the Year QLD

Elysium Hair Brisbane
Luke Reynolds Hairdressing
Minx Contemporary Hair Boutique
Tigerlamb Portside

State Salon of the Year SA

Blow It’s a Hair Thing
Dare Hair
Orbe North Adelaide

State Salon of the Year VIC/TAS

Hair By Ciccone
Hoopla Salon
Ohana Hairdressing
Rubi Hair, Richmond
Zucci Hairdressing

State Salon of the Year WA/NT

Pierrot’s Hair Studio
Revampd Hair Studio

State Wholesaler of the Year Winners

VIC/TAS – Total Hair & Beauty Tasmania
WA/NT – Salon Supplies
NSW/ACT – The Beauty Warehouse
QLD – Salon Depot
SA – Salon Haircare

Click here for Styleicons|TV.

, , , , , ,