It was the pinnacle of an already elite event, and no matter how tired the swells of hairdressers were from three days of learning, shopping, networking and partying, they dressed up and came down for the Schwarzkopf Professional Hair Expo Awards on Monday night.


After passing a long line of hairdressers comprising the red carpet, partaking in a new dining format that saw different food stations set up around the hall and witnessing a performance by recording artist Nathaniel, it was time for the main event – crowning Australia and New Zealand’s brightest stars among a list of 20 categories. Richard Reid was back as host to compere the annual event in its 31st year.

Danny Pato

Frank Apostolopoulos closed the night as Australian Hairdresser of the Year for the third time in four years, also taking out Photographic Collection of the Year, with a daring and theatrical collection, which you can see in full here. Danny Pato took home top honours for the Kiwis, being named New Zealand Hairdresser of the Year.

Frank Apostolopoulos

Australian export turned American TV sensation Tabatha Coffey rounded out her busy stint at expo by being added to the Hall of Fame, while Chinney Yeap’s vivid images were named the People’s Choice. Adrian Rotolo won for colour, Uros Mikic was first in men’s and Jules Tognini affirmed his significant status in education by being named Educator of the Year once again.

Tabatha Coffey

For the salons, é SALON was named best salon team and the all-new Edwards and Co. Alexandria won best salon design.


You can see the full list of winners below, and join us in wishing them all well-deserved congratulations!

Australian Hairdresser of the Year – Frank Apostolopoulos, BIBA Salons

New Zealand Hairdresser of the Year – Danny Pato, D&M Hair Design

Hall of Fame – Tabatha Coffey

Photographic Collection of the Year – Frank Apostolopoulos, BIBA Salons

People’s Choice – Chinney Yeap, Buoy Salon & Spa

Colour Technician of the Year – Adrian Rotolo, Ibiza Hair

Men’s Hairdresser/Barber of the Year – Uros Mikic, Kinky Curly Straight

NSW/ACT Hairdresser of the Year – Mary Alamine, Royals Hair

SA/TAS Hairdresser of the Year – Kristy Hodgson, Jarahs Hair

VIC Hairdresser of the Year – Dee Parker Attwood, Wieselmann Salon

WA/NT Hairdresser of the Year – Simone Lee, Simone Lee Creative

New Creative Force – Hermiz Daniel, Joey Scandizzo Salon

Session Stylist of the Year – Koh Sataporn

Salon Team/Group of the Year – é SALON

Apprentice/Student of the Year – Kelly Manu, Blaze Hair Newmarket

Best Salon Design – Edwards and Co. Alexandria

Educator of the Year – Jules Tognini

Education Business of the Year – DCI Education for Hairdressers

Salon Business of the Year – Elysium Hair Brisbane

Industry Business Performance of the Year – Sustainable Salons Australia

For more information visit