Top Menu


International Prize Announced for Hair Expo Hairdressers of the Year

As if it there weren’t enough accolades and bragging rights involved in being crowned Hair Expo’s Australian and New Zealand Hairdressers of the Year. Now the prize pool has become even bigger for the talented duo.


2015 New Zealand Hairdresser of the Year Michael Beel

We can exclusively reveal a whole new, priceless prize that will make the title even more enticing in 2016 – the recipients of these two awards will be given the opportunity to stage a show at Salon International London in October 2016. Flights, accommodation, a budget for UK models and a dedicated slot on the schedule of the Hairdressing Journal International Stage at Salon International will all be covered in the prize.

“I am so excited at this development,” said Julia Erben, Event Director for Hair Expo. “For years we’ve been trying to add this component to the prize for Australian Hairdresser of the Year and New Zealand Hairdresser of the Year, and it has finally come to fruition. It’s an amazing opportunity for our winners to showcase not only their talent, but the incredible prowess of the Australian and New Zealand hairdressing industries on a global stage.”


Salon International

Salon International offers exposure to a huge international audience, with 42,000 visitors from over 80 different countries flocking to Europe’s biggest professional hairdressing event. It represents an invaluable and far-reaching career boost to this year’s Australian and New Zealand Hairdressers of the Year and is unique to any Australasian hairdressing award.

“I am delighted to offer this show on our stage to the best hairdressers in Australia and New Zealand,” commented Jayne Lewis-Orr, Executive Director of Hairdressing Journal International. “I can’t wait to see what they bring to our event”.

The Australian and New Zealand Hairdressers of the Year will be announced at the Schwarzkopf Professional Hair Expo Awards Gala, taking place on Monday the 13th of June at the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre.

Dmitri Papas2

2015 Australian Hairdresser of the Year Dmitri Papas

This year, as always, the Australian Hairdresser of the Year and New Zealand Hairdresser or the Year awards are being battled out by some very impressive names.

The Australian title is contested by reigning champ Dmitri Papas, Emiliano Vitale, Frank Apostolopoulos, Kobi Bokshish, Laure MacLeod and Uros Mikic. The New Zealand award is open to finalists Danny Pato, Jock Robson, Mana Dave, Natasha King, Sara Allsop and 2015 winner Michael Beel.

Now the victory will be that much sweeter.

For more information visit

Click here for Styleicons|TV.

, , , , , , , , ,