Top Menu


Introducing the 2017 FAME Team

We already called them out in our long list of talented Australian Hair Fashion Awards (AHFA) winners last week, but we’re giving the 2017 FAME Team their spotlight right here, and showing you exactly what they’ve won and what opportunities await.

The 2017 FAME Team

The four FAME Team hairdressers were announced at the Awards ceremony by their 2016 predecessors (Nathan Cherrington, Nicole Kae, Nadia Semanic and Adam Isles) and the group’s Director Brett McKinnon. The winners were chosen after an exhaustive entry process, which included a live skills demonstration for fourteen finalists, as judged by Sharon Blain, Leesa Smith, Richard Kavanagh, Sarah Laidlaw, INSTYLE’s Cameron Pine and Brett McKinnon, among others.

Let’s congratulate 2017’s FAME Team – Jamie Furlan of Xiang Hair, Marie Cain of Head Studio, Joe Ribera of Visare Hair Studio and Dion Lee Andrew of TONI&GUY Georges.

The team can now look forward to a full year of opportunities around the globe (think locally, London and Paris), including expert mentorships, stage experience and photographic shoots. The 2016 team even had their collection nominated for the award of Artistic Team of the Year at this year’s AHFAs, giving this year’s crop big shoes to fill.

The mentorship program highlights four emerging hairdressers (all under the age of 35) who represent the future of Australian hairdressing – and are in a prime position to catapult their career to the next level.

“I am so excited to welcome these four exceptional talents to the FAME program and can’t wait to watch their progress over the year,” Brett enthused.

We’ll be watching along with equal intrigue.

Click here for Styleicons|TV.

, , , ,