Top Menu


The Wrap: 2017 Australian Hair Fashion Awards

It was a multi-coloured evening under Luna Park’s Big Top at the 25th Australian Hair Fashion Awards (AHFAs) on Sunday night – the event celebrated its silver anniversary, Dannii Minogue (with the help of L’Oreal Professionnel and Xiang Hair) went from blonde to pink, White Ribbon was the charity of the evening (and the accessory on every attendee’s lapel) and a myriad of talented hairdressers walked away with the gold.

2017 AHFA winners

The event hosted a range of celebrities, such as the aforementioned Dannii, who presented the award for Australian Hairdresser of the Year, Havana Brown, who performed an energetic set and DJed the after party, ghd ambassador Pia Miller, event compere and TV presenter Faustina Agolley and our own long list of hairdressing royalty.

Faustina Agolley

Last year’s Hairdresser of the Year winner, Caterina Di Biase, presented a colourful, futuristic, braided and hair-sown fashion show (to the soulful sounds of rapping and violin) with the ‘silver anniversary’ theme artistically represented in the fashion and hair. 900 industry members watched on over a three-course meal, in an unrivalled night of hairdressing networking.

Havana Brown

With all the festivities, the main event was still the winners in hairdressing and product categories, and the big winner of the evening was a name not foreign to the awards night (and the main title itself). This year the Australian Hairdresser of the Year was once again Damien Rinaldo of Boris the Cuttery, whose fierce, evocative and unconventional collection won over the litany of famous judges (you can see the collection here, and read all about the esteemed international judging panel – headlined by Eugene Souleiman, Antony Mascolo, Akin Konizi and Sam McKnight – here). Damien won over a very talented finalist pool, with Uros Mikic, Oscar Cullinan, Kobi Bokshish, Frank Apostolopoulos and Craig Smith also up for the award.

Damien Rinaldo

Beyond that, Kobi and his Intershape salon took to the stage twice (Hair Fashion Video and Artistic Team), Danielle Solier (who created Dannii’s pink look) was named top colourist, Kings Domain barber Tori Gill won for Men’s, Cherie Falco took home the prize in Avant Garde and Nathan Cherrington was named top newcomer. Plus, each state winner was given their due and the proverbial torch was passed from last year’s FAME team to the next. Beyond hairdressing, the most innovative and enticing product launches were named and makeup and fashion styling creatives were awarded as well. Read every winning name below.

Danielle Solier, pictured with L’Oreal Professionnel Education Manager Birdget Noonan, wins Colourist of the Year

“We are delighted to support the most exciting night in the Australian Hair Fashion industry,” said General Manager of event sponsor L’Oréal Professionnel, Olga Zanetti. “In order to build on the event’s success and celebrate our artistic community, it’s crucial that we work with local talent and help place them on a world stage, enabling them to be recognised at the highest level. This is something both L’Oréal Professionnel and the AHFAs believe in. Once again, the event itself was an amazing success and we congratulate all of the winners and finalists.”

Olga Zanetti and Dannii Minogue on stage

The event had its fair share of frivolity (as anyone at the after party would tell you), but was also anchored by an important cause, the support of the White Ribbon Foundation and the crusade against domestic violence, which was seen on stage, on clothes and in donation tins around the hall.

Pia Miller

Philanthropy, artistry, celebration and a healthy dose of competition – every facet of the hairdressing industry was represented in full at the 2017 AHFAs, recognising new and established talent and bringing the industry together for one giant night. It’s a sure-fire recipe for success as the awards show now hurtles towards year 50.

Congratulations to the winners listed below:

Australian Hairdresser Of The Year
Damien Rinaldo – Boris The Cuttery

Creative Colourist Of The Year
Danielle Solier – Xiang Hair

Men’s Hairdresser Of The Year
Tori Gill – King’s Domain South Yarra

Artistic Team Of The Year
Intershape Artistic Team

Avant Garde Hairdresser Of The Year
Cherie Falco – Kinky Curly Straight

NSW/ACT Hairdresser Of The Year
Maria Unali – Salon Kiin

Victorian Hairdresser Of The Year
Michael Piastrino – Ibiza Hair

Queensland Hairdresser Of The Year
Brodie-Lee Stubbins – Rokstar

South Australian/Tasmanian Hairdresser Of The Year
Sam James-Cockayne – Orbe North Adelaide

Western Australian/Northern Territory Hairdresser Of The Year
Pauline McCabe – Rock Paper Scissors Hair Studio

Apprentice Hairdresser Of The Year
Michelle Nguyen – Oscar Oscar Salon

Newcomer Of The Year
Nathan Cherrington – TONI&GUY Concord

Session Stylist Of The Year
Renya Xydis

Make-Up Artist Of The Year
Sarah Laidlaw

Fashion Stylist Of The Year
Leticia Dare

Hair Fashion Video Of The Year
Kobi Bokshish

Excellence In Education
DCI Education

Salon Of The Year
Edwards & Co

Best New Professional Haircare Product
Revlon Uniq One Hair Treatment

Best New Professional Styling Product
L’Oréal Professionnel French Girl Hair Messy Cliché

Best New Professional Packaging & Design
Evo Hairmuda Triangle

Most Innovative Hair Tool
EVY Professional IQ OneGlide Styler

For more information visit

Click here for Styleicons|TV.

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,