Top Menu


Who Won At The British Hairdressing Awards?

Britain put their best foot forward this week, with the British Hairdressing Awards taking place across the pond and celebrating the country’s finest talents. Held by the Hairdresser’s Journal and sponsored by Schwarzkopf Professional, 16 titles were announced, including that of the highly-coveted British Hairdresser of the Year.

BHA 2015-356

The varied categories included 9 regional categories and 7 specialist categories consisting of Afro, Artistic Team, Avant Garde, Men’s, Newcomer and Schwarzkopf Professional British Colour Technician of the Year. Hairdressers across the country were invited to submit a collection of eight images that would showcase both their artistic ingenuity and technical prowess.

Hall of Fame

Finalists, previous winners and esteemed guests were present at the event, held at The Grosvenor House in London and hosted by TV Personality David Walliams and the Executive Director of Hairdresser’s Journal International Jayne Lewis-Orr. The evening included a capsule set by British X Factor Winner Ben Haenow and individual catwalk shows by each of the seven British Hairdresser of the Year Nominees, Errol Douglas, Mark Hayes, the Gary Hooker and Michael Young duo, Darren Ambrose, Akin Konizi, Mark Leeson and Jamie Stevens.

Darren British

British Hairdresser of the Year Darren Ambrose

Philip Bell, Bruno Marc Giamattei and Jamie Stevens were inducted into the Hall of Fame for their incomparable achievements in the industry, and Darren Ambrose was announced as this year’s British Hairdresser of the Year. His winning collection was inspired by iconic women, and aesthetically influenced by the image of oil paintings on a canvas translated through an amalgamation of colour techniques and couture.

Darren and models

Darren Ambrose and models

“British hairdressing is regarded as the best in the world. We are leaders in this international industry and the British Hairdressing Awards recognise this talent,” Jayne opined. “Each year the creativity and passion put into the entries is outstanding and the atmosphere in the Great Room, and the spirit of this industry as a whole, comes together to produce a very special evening.”

Congratulations to all the winners listed below.

Regional Categories

Eastern Hairdresser of the Year
Callum Standen-May, The Egg, Norwich

London Hairdresser of the Year
Cos Sakkas, Toni & Guy, Sloane Square

Midlands Hairdresser of the Year
Shaun Hall, Mark Leeson, Chesterfield, Derbyshire

North Eastern Hairdresser of the Year
Jill Watkins-Wright, Watkins-Wright Hairdressing, Thirsk, North Yorkshire

Northern Ireland Hairdresser of the Year
Julie Cherry and Collette Fitzpatrick, Shane Bennett Salon, Co. Down

North Western Hairdresser of the Year
Gary Taylor, Edward & Co., Brighouse, West Yorkshire

Scottish Hairdresser of the Year
Caroline Sanderson and Claire McIntyre, Ego Hair Design, Inverness

Southern Hairdresser of the Year
Robert Masciave, Metropolis Hairdressing, Kingston-upon-Thames

Wales & South West Hairdresser of the Year
Martin Crean, Mode, Chipping Campden, Gloucestershire

Specialist Categories

Afro Hairdresser of the Year
Michelle Thompson, Francesco Group Advanced Academy, Stafford

Artistic Team of the Year
Shane Bennett Salon, Hillsborough, Co. Down

Avant Garde Hairdresser of the Year
Lucie Monbillard, seanhanna, London

Men’s Hairdresser of the Year
Marcus King, Hooker & Young, Wynyard, Billingham

Newcomer of the Year
Sophie Springett, Toni & Guy, South Kensington, London

Schwarzkopf Professional British Colour Technician of the Year
Issie Churcher, HOB Salons, Camden, London

British Hairdresser of the Year
Darren Ambrose, D&J Ambrose, Pinner

Click here for Styleicons|TV.

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Hair Industry News Straight To Your Inbox

All the information, inspiration and education you need in the salon sphere twice a week.

You have Successfully Subscribed!