Top Menu


Winners Announced in 2016 British Hairdressing Awards

1700 hairdressers gathered earlier this week to discover the very best in British Hairdressing once again, as the British Hairdressing Awards (BHAs) decided the current and future leaders of the industry in its fourth decade of operation.


The awards, which are hosted at London’s famous Grosvenor House and sponsored by Schwarzkopf Professional, celebrate the talented hairdressers in a national industry that employs more than 300,000 people across 35,000 salons and contributes 7 billion pounds to the British economy – an invariable global force that the Australian industry always looks towards.


But this is all burying the lead of the story you’re all hearing to discover – who won the coveted title of British Hairdresser of the Year? Acclaimed hairdresser Angelo Seminara won over a brilliant pool of finalists, edging out Darren Ambrose, Errol Douglas, Mark Hayes, Gary Hooker & Michael Young, Akin Konizi, Mark Leeson and Jamie Stevens to win the title.


“A British Hairdressing Award is the ultimate accolade in hairdressing and we couldn’t be more proud to present them to our winners today,” said Hairdressers Journal International’s executive director, Jayne Lewis-Orr, who hosted the event alongside TV personality David Walliams. “The award demonstrates not only unabashed creativity and supreme technical skill, but also marks you out as one of the greatest hairdressers in the country.”


The awards serve to catapult careers, embolden prolific hairdressers and pay tribute to a powerful industry and hairdressing community. With nine regional categories highlighting hairdressers across the UK as a whole, and six specialist categories calling out particular talents in colour, men’s styling and more, the British Hairdressing Awards provide the ideal platform for global inspiration (and some friendly competition).


See a full list of winners below:

Northern Ireland Hairdresser of the Year: Julian Dalrymple, The Sitting Room, Ballymena
Midlands Hairdresser of the Year: Nick Malenko and Sophie Beattie, Royston Blythe, Wolverhampton
North Western Hairdresser of the Year: Marcello Moccia, Room 97 Creative Hairdressing, Wakefield
Scottish Hairdresser of the Year: Suzie McGill and Dylan Brittain, Rainbow Room International, Uddingston
North Eastern Hairdresser of the Year: Joseph Ferraro, Joseph Ferraro, Harrogate
Southern Hairdresser of the Year: Anne Veck, Anne Veck Salons, Oxford
Wales & South West Hairdresser of the Year: Steven Smart, Smartest 73, Weston-Super-Mare
Eastern Hairdresser of the Year: Joseph I’Anson and Lisa Graham, Mark Leeson, Mansfielf
London Hairdresser of the Year: Luke Benson, D&J Ambrose, Pinner, Middlesex
Avant Garde Hairdresser of the Year: Indira Schauwecker, TONI & GUY, Covent Garden
Newcomer of the Year: William Lamb, Daniel Granger Hairdressing, Northampton
Men’s Hairdresser of the Year: Terri Kay and Andrea Giles, Mark Leeson, Mansfield
Afro Hairdresser of the Year: Robert Eaton and Karla Ancliff-Smith, Russell Eaton, Leeds
Artistic Team of the Year: Angelo Vallillo Academy, Nottingham
Schwarzkopf Professional British Colour Technician of the Year: Robert Eaton, Russell Eaton, Leeds
British Hairdresser of the Year: Angelo Seminara

Click here for Styleicons|TV.

, , , , ,

Hair Industry News Straight To Your Inbox

All the information, inspiration and education you need in the salon sphere twice a week.

You have Successfully Subscribed!