Top Menu


Australian Hair Fashion Awards Announce 2018 Finalists

The finalists in the ever-prominent Australian Hair Fashion Awards have been announced on social media, delighting dozens of talented hairdressers around Australia and pointing to the current artistic leaders in our industry. The finalists now face an anxious wait as we head towards the awards ceremony and final winners announcement on April 15.

2017 AHFA Winners

The competition provides a host of categories, including state categories, sections dedicated to men’s hair, colour, emerging talent, beauty, photography and fashion, as well as the pinnacle Australian Hairdresser of the Year. This year the nominees in that illustrious category include Craig Smith, Damien Rinaldo, Frank Apostolopoulos, Kobi Bokshish, Jamie Furlan and Malissa Masci.

Judging for these coveted titles was undertaken by some of the best names in the international hair industry, including Eugene Souleiman, Nicola Clarke, Akin Konizi, Anthony Mascolo, Zoe Irwin, Edward Darley and Sam McKnight. Winners and finalists can be assured that their work has been pored over and approved by some of the world’s greatest hairdressing figures.

2017 Australian Hairdresser of the Year, Damien Rinaldo

The 2018 event is poised to be a highlight of the annual hairdressing calendar, with celebrity hairdresser Jen Atkin appearing as a special guest from the US, and new categories such as AHFA Digital Influencer of the Year and AHFA Hairshot of the Year up for grabs. KEVIN.MURPHY will sponsor the event for the first year ever, ensuring artistry and editorial excellence are, as always, a focus.

So with that in mind, it’s time to read the winners. See the full list below and join us in congratulating them.

AHFA Australian Hairdresser of the Year

Craig Smith Fruition
Damien Rinaldo Boris the Cuttery
Frank Apostolopoulos BIBA
Kobi Bokshish Intershape Hairstylists
Jamie Furlan Xiang Hair
Malissa Masci, Masci Hair

AHFA Men’s Hairdresser of the Year

Timothy Pascoe, Head Studio
Madison Voloshin District Salon
Xin Guo, Xin Twenty One
Joshua Mihan, The Bearded Man
Aaron Chan Kings Domain South Yarra
Uros Mikic Kinky Curly Straight

AHFA Creative Colourist of the Year

Lisa Polini, Hype Hair Studio
Danielle Solier Xiang Hair
Charmayne Robinson, Papas and Pace
Amanda Menz, Fruition
Rachel Vitullo, Joey Scandizzo
Stevie English Stevie English Hair

AHFA Artistic Team of the Year

2017 Australian FAME Team
Papas + Pace
Intershape Artistic Team
Fruition Artistic Team
Royals Hair Artistic Team
Creative Collaborators

AHFA Avant Garde Hairdresser of the Year

Markis Weisheim, Bibna Academy
Chung-Yang Su Rokk Ebony
Nadia Semanic TONI&GUY Georges
Shaun McGrath Stevie English Hair
Carolyn Gahan, Seamless 1
Jenni Tarrant, Bond Hair Religion


Alexandra Newman, Chumba Concept Salon
Ben Russell, Biba Gertrude St
Bill Tsiknaris, Tsiknaris Hair
Jo Cotroneo, Zinc the Element of Hair
Damien Rinaldo, Boris the Cuttery
Maria Unali, Salon Kiin
Mariam Enegd, Biba Gertrude St
Mathew Johnson, MJ by Mat Johnson
Philip Barwick, Muse Hairdressing
Tiffany Decaux, Boris the Cuttery

AHFA NSW/ACT Hairdresser of the Year

Adam Ciaccia, Axia Hairdressing
Katy Reeve,TONI&GUY Paddington
Travis Bandiera, Royals Hair
Chantal Haberland, Synergy Hair and Beauty
Nathan Cherrington,TONI&GUY Concord
Lauren McCowan, Haircare Australia

AHFA Victorian Hairdresser of the Year

Joe Habbaki, TONI&GUY Armadale
Jacky Chan, Oscar Oscar Salons
Michael Piastrino Ibiza Hair
Benjamin Martin, Salon XVI
Adam Isles Rokk Ebony
Jo Smith,TONI&GUY Georges

AHFA Queensland Hairdresser of the Year

Amanda O’Connor, Papas +Pace
Carole Haddad Corcorz Hair
Brodie Lee Stubbins Rokstar
Bill Tsiknaris, Tsiknaris Hair
Jules Tognini, Togninis
Eugene Sokolovs, Ette Studio

AHFA South Australian/Tasmanian Hairdresser of the Year

Sebastian Joseph, Sequel by Parlour Hair
Tiffany Smith, Sequel by Parlour Hair
Grant Norton Chester’s Wife Rose
Marco Giorgio. Artique Hair Salon
Sam James Orbe North Adelaide
Jo Sym-Choon, Hair by Jo Sym Choon

AHFA Western Australian/Northern Territory Hairdresser of the Year

Jude McEwen TONI&GUY Perth Central
Lisa Polini Hype Hair Studio
Marie Cain Head Studio
Melissa Gesualdo Reno’s on St Quentin
Pauline McCabe Rock Paper Scissors Studio
Claire O’Dowd, O’Dowd Christie Hair

AHFA Apprentice Hairdresser of the Year

Karlie Roberts, Chumba Concept Salon
Georgia Freedman, Rokk Ebony Toorak
Vanessa Tate, Small Batch Hair
Elie Kashi Royals Hair
Josie Horner, Globe Creative
Rachel Stephen, Axis Hairdressing

AHFA Newcomer Hairdresser of the Year

Laura Spinney, Academie Salon
Roxanne Benli, Rokk Ebony Collins Place
Jessica Sutherland Rokk Ebony Toorak
Nichola Lovell TONI&GUY Brighton
Liam Hubbard, Edwards & Co
Lauren Sieger, Black Avenue Hair

AHFA Fashion Stylist of the Year

Milana De Mina
Melissa Nixon
Leroy Lorenzo
Luke Meakins
Lydia Jane Saunders

AHFA Make-Up Artist of the Year

Mikele Simone
Christina Rodio
Chereine Waddell
Sarah Laidlaw
Bernice Mansfield
Kate Radford

AHFA Hair Fashion Video of the Year

Richard Kavanagh
TONI&GUY Artistic Team
Kobi Bokshish
Uros Mikic
Anmar Sahar
Eleven Australia

Click here for Styleicons|TV.

, , , , , ,