Top Menu


Hair Expo 2019 Announce Award Finalists

The results are in and the finalists have been decided for Hair Expo 2019, with 115 talented hairdressers now in the running from Australia and New Zealand. The entrants across all 19 categories received a Charlie and the Chocolate Factory inspired golden ticket, including everyone near and far in a personal method of announcement and congratulations.

Pauline McCabe AHOTY Submission

“We wanted to create something fun and experiential that all our Hair Expo Awards entrants could participate in this year. The response has been amazing and we are so thrilled for all our finalists! The standard of work that is produced for these awards is always incredible, but this year, Australian and New Zealand hairdressers have once again raised the bar with some exceptional creative collections among our 2019 entries,” said event director Cory Watson.

Dee Parker Attwood AHOTY Submission

Finalists are competing in categories that range from business to education, state titles, artistic titles and the all-important Australian Hairdresser of the Year and its New Zealand counterpart. Additionally, the title of Master Cutter is an all new category that speaks to the exceptional art of haircutting itself. Check out all the nominated collections here:

Uros Mikic AHOTY Submission

The judging panel tasked with narrowing the entries down spanned far and wide, with the international contingent consisting of Trevor Sorbie, Tabatha Coffey, Sally Brooks, Jamie Brooks, Peter Gray, Nick Irwin, Mark Leeson, Andreas Stavrou, Guy Tang, Michael Levine, George Alderete and Laura Castelli. The local judging panel was made up of legends like Emiliano Vitale, Sandy Chong, Caterina Di Biase, Stelios Papas, Justin Pace, Brad Ngata, Jules Tognini, Brownwyn Illingworth and our own INSTYLE editor Cameron Pine. A specialist business group of judges was made up on acclaimed business stars such as Ruth Browne, Enza Ferraro, Charles Marcus, Faye Murray and Anthony Richardson, all of whom were selected by head judge Julie Piantadosi.

Dmitri Papas AHOTY Submission

“Our judges were blown away with the amount of creativity and technical skill from our entrants this year. It’s more evident than ever that hairdressers from Australia and New Zealand are among the best in the world and the Hair Expo Awards provide the perfect platform for them to showcase their incredible skill,” Julie said about this year’s awards.

Kobi Bokshish AHOTY Submission

Let’s get to the reason you’re all here, acknowledging and congratulating the talented finalists. See and applaud the full list below before the big awards event on June 10.

For more information visit

Shane Henning AHOTY Submission

Creative Categories

Australian Hairdresser of the Year

Pauline McCabe – Rock Paper Scissors Hair Studio

Kobi Bokshish – Intershape Hairstylists

Dee Parker Attwood – Wieselmann Salon

Uros Mikic – Kinky Curly Straight

Mary Alamine – Royals Hair

Dmitri Papas – Papas and Pace

Shane Henning – Noddys on King

Mary Alamine AHOTY Submission

Apprentice Student of the Year

Bridie Meehan – Joey Scandizzo Salon

Tep Read – Papas and Pace

Georgia Freedman – Rokk Ebony

Harrison Sansom – Stevie English Hair

Ella Thompson – Dharma

Best Salon Design

KODA Cutters

Brady Hair Salon

House of Terre a Mer

Fatty Arbuckles Hair Artistry & Lather Lounge

Minogue Hairdressing

Glow Beauty Space

Zowie Evans Hairdressing

Tsiknaris Hair

Kinky Curly Straight

GM Hair

Colour Technician of the Year

Justin Pace – Papas and Pace

Chris Tsiknaris – Tsiknaris hair

Kristie Kesic – Stelios Papas Toowong

Marilyn Guarino – BIBA

Stevie Corthine – Stevie English Hair

Creative Force of the Year

Zoe Wilde – Sir & Duchess Salon

Lyndall Vile – Head Over Heels

Steph Meyer – Steph Meyer & Co

Jacky Quon – De Stijl Hair

Elle Schoemaker – Stelios Papas Toowong

Nichola Lovell – Toni&Guy Brighton

Morgan Richards – Toni&Guy McMahons Point

Master Cutter of the Year

Kylie Hayes – Moha Hairdressing

Jessica Sutherland – Rokk Ebony

Dmitri Papas – Papas and Pace

Jules Tognini – lil’ off the top

Lyndal Salmon – BIBA

Sabrina Fetterkind – BIBA

Men’s Hairdresser/Barber of the Year

Christopher Byrne – Sloans of Lane Cove

Tom White – Rubi Hair

Harriett Tan – colour it & man it

Yuki Kano – Toni&Guy Australia

Hussein Naser – nasers haircuts

Fred LeMarche – Man Oh Man

Anthony Staltari – Barbery The Craft of a Barber

Tori Gill – Paragon Studio

New Zealand Hairdresser of the Year

Jamiee Smith – Zaibatsu Hair Art

Ann Marie Young – Jingles Hair Design

Danny Pato – D&M Hair Design

Mikaela Campbell – Opulence

Kylie Hayes – Moha Hairdressing

Mike Hamel – GM Hair

NSW/ACT Australian Capital Territory Hairdresser of the Year

Zoe Wilde – Sir & Duchess Salon

Idy Duong – Sloans of Lane Cove

Nathan Cherrington – Salon Zephyr

Paula Hibbard – Paula Hibbard

Travis Bandiera – Royals Hair

Carolyn Gahan – Seamless1

QLD Hairdresser of the Year

Dimitri Tsiknaris – Tsiknaris Hair

Ryan King – Togninis

Rebecca Hubbard – Dextress Hair

Elle Schoemaker – Stelios Papas Toowong

Salon Team of the Year

Jingles Hair Design


Stelios Papas Toowong

Axis Hairdressing

Barbery the Craft of a Barber

UVA Salon · Papas and Pace

Moha Hairdressing

Toni&Guy McMahons Point

Stevie English Hair

SA/TAS Hairdresser of the Year

Tracy Doak – De Stijl

Mathew Johnson – MJ by Mat Johnson

Sam James – Orbe North Adelaide

Johnny Georgiou – Barbery the Craft of a Barber

Massimo Tirimacco – Zohair

Session Stylist of the Year

Richard Kavanagh – DLM

Sarah Laidlaw – Sarah Laidlaw @ Union Management

Daren Borthwick – The Artist Group

VIC Hairdresser of the Year

Nikki Porter – Rubi Hair Malvern

Benjamin Martin – Salon XVI

Chung-Yang Su – Rokk Ebony

Christina Tatasciore – Flipped Hair

Lyndal Salmon – BIBA

WA/NT Hairdresser of the Year

Hayley Keep – Earth Wind Fire Hair

Jude McEwen – Toni&Guy Perth Central

Jo Banks – HairArt

Michael O’Dowd – O’Dowd Christie

Timothy Pascoe – Head Studio

Business Categories

Education Business of the Year

MIG Training

Barbery the Craft of a Barber

Box Hill Institute – Hairdressing

DCI Education

Sharon Blain Education

Educator of the Year

Jules Tognini – lil’ off the top

Dario Cotroneo – DCI Education

Bernadette Beswick – Beswick Education Services

Lauren McCowan – Lauren McCowan

Katy Reeve – Toni&Guy

Industry Business Performance of the Year

Mocha Publishing

Excellent Edges

MacLeod Education

Hair Aid



Salon Business of the Year

Rubi Hair Richmond

Circles of Hair


Tyler Reid Hair

Royals Hair

Papas and Pace

Huntress Hair Religion

Click here for Styleicons|TV.

, , , , , , , , , , ,