Top Menu


Hair Expo Awards 2020 Make Changes To Format

The Hair Expo Awards are constantly evolving to keep themselves fresh and ahead of the game, and a new change has been announced for 2020 as well. Hoping to bring g new life, creativity and inclusivity to the illustrious platform and the hairdressing industry at large, GenNext and the Hair Expo Awards, which traditionally take place on the Sunday and Monday evenings of the Hair Expo long weekend, respectively, will now merge together to create one major event.

GenNext, which puts the talents of emerging hairdressers in the spotlight, will now provide entertainment throughout the awards evening on Monday night, sharing the stage with the traditional must-see performances of the previous years’ Australian and New Zealand Hairdressers of the Year. This will ensure unparalleled exposure for the industry’s rising stars.

“This well received new format will create inclusivity and accessibility for apprentices and the up and comers in our industry, as they will now have the chance to feel the exhilarating atmosphere as the Hair Expo Awards unfold. To be in the same room as some of the most iconic names in hairdressing will give them a glimpse into the incredible opportunities a career in hairdressing can provide. We are honoured and proud to share this new chapter of our fabulous awards,” said Elli Julia, Awards Producer at Hair Expo Australia.

A lower cost ticketing option will be available for these rising stars, which will feature tiered seating for a very special Early Bird price of $75. Traditional banquet tickets will still be available for finalists, teams and esteemed guests. Three teams will present as part of the GenNext portion of the evening.

Additional major news for the awards is 2020’s inimitable judging panel, which is the first purely international judging panel in the event’s history. The panel is comprised of Trevor Sorbie, Mark Leeson, Angelo Seminara, Nick Irwin, Tabatha Coffey, Sergi Bancells, Errol Douglas, Anthony Crossfield, Jayne Lewis Orr, Michelle Pargee, Jorge Cancer, Edward Woody, Peter Gray, Darren Ambrose, Andreas Stavrou, Guy Tang, Michael Levine, Charles Marcus, Edwin Johnson, George Alderete and Shannon King.

Hair Expo Australia will take place at the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre over 6-8 June 2020, with the Hair Expo Awards ft. GenNext being held on the evening of 8 June 2020. Entries for the Hair Expo Awards close at 5:00pm AEDT on Wednesday 1 April 2020 with finalists announced on 17 April.

Good luck to all who enter!

For more information visit

Click here for Styleicons|TV.

, , , ,